Accessibility menu option: Skip to main content Accessibility menu option: Skip to main navigation
Ask a Librarian

About the Library

About the Libraries

Special Awards for CUL Staff

The submission deadline for all awards is Wednesday, April 22, 2015 at 12:00 p.m.

Awards will be presented at the annual SMU Libraries Staff Recognition Event, on Monday, May 4th at 3:00 pm in the CUL Staff Auditorium (SIC 364).

Dean's Eureka! Award

Awarded to the CUL staff member(s) who showed the most creativity, ingenuity and imagination: who took a risk, tried an idea, or bled on the cutting edge to make a difference for CUL and the SMU Community. The award will be $500. Nominations will be reviewed by a committee comprising of Gillian McCombs, Dean & Director of Central University Libraries, Chris Regis, Vice President of Business & Finance, Joe Gargiulo, Chief Information Officer Office of Information Technology and Sandy Miller, BIC Director.

Nominate somebody for the Eureka! award

CUL Team Recognition Award

This award was created in 2002 to acknowledge the efforts of people working as teams within Central University Libraries, which have previously gone unrecognized. Teams must be cross-divisional within CUL, but may also include staff from other University libraries. Teams must consist of three or more members. Teams must have displayed exemplary service to CUL by their co-operative efforts to achieve the team goal(s). They can be either permanent ongoing teams or ad hoc committees charge with a specific task. The prize for the winning team is lunch at a restaurant of their choice. Nominations will be reviewed by members of the CUL Leadership Team. Nominations can be submitted by any CUL staff member, including members of the team being nominated.

Nominate a team

SMU Libraries

SMU Libraries Staff Awards

The Committee for the SMU Libraries Staff Recognition Awards is seeking nominations for the 2014/2015 awards. The awards recognize outstanding contributions to the Libraries and/or to the information professions, and service to library users. There are six awards carrying monetary prizes.

More information