Transfer Equivalency Guides

 My Courses (0)

Southern Methodist University has pre-approved many courses from other colleges and universities that are transferable to SMU for credit. Please select the school from which you will be transferring from to see how the classes you have taken will work towards your SMU academic career.

Note to current SMU students: These approved lists are solely for new transfers to SMU. Southern Methodist University students MUST petition ALL post-matriculation transfer courses PRIOR to enrollment. SMU schools have differing policies regarding the transferability of outside credit, some allow 2-year institutions while others require all transfer work be completed at an accredited, 4-year institution. Students who fail to obtain prior approval for transfer work are not guaranteed credit for their courses.

2-year and other institutions
(Junior, Community, e.g.)
4-year institutions
(Domestic and International)
Alamo Community College District  (ACCD)
Austin Community College  (ACC)
Blinn College  (BC)
Central Texas College  (CTCD)
Collin College  (CC)
Cooke Co Coll  (NCTC)
Dallas County Community College District  (DCCCD)
Del Mar College  (DMC)
Grayson County College  (GC)
Gulf Coast Comm Coll Dist  (GCCC)
Johnson County Community College  (JCCC)
Kilgore College  (KC)
McLennan Community College  (MCC)
Navarro College  (NC)
North Central Texas College  (NCTC)
Tarrant County College  (TCC)
Trinity Valley Community College  (TVCC)
Tyler Junior College  (TJC)
Arizona State University  (ASU)
Art Institute Of Dallas  (AI)
Baylor University  (BU)
College Of Charleston  (CC)
Dallas Baptist University  (DBU)
Furman University  (FU)
Inst Tecnologico de Estudios Superiores, Monterrey  (ITESM)
Midwestern State University  (MWSU)
New York University  (NYU)
Northeastern State University  (NSU)
Oklahoma State University Main Campus  (OSU)
Purdue University Main Campus  (PU)
Santa Clara University  (SCU)
Southwestern University  (SU)
Stephen F Austin State University  (SFASU)
Texas A&M University  (TAMU)
Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi  (TAMC)
Texas Christian University  (TCU)
Texas Southern University  (TSU)
Texas State University  (TSU)
Texas Tech University  (TTU)
Texas Woman's University  (TWU)
The University Of Texas At Dallas  (UTD)
The University Of Texas San Antonio  (UTSA)
University Of Arkansas Fayetteville  (UARK)
University Of Central Florida  (UCF)
University Of Colorado At Boulder  (CU-Boulder)
University Of Dallas  (UD)
University Of Georgia  (UG)
University Of Kansas Main Campus  (UK)
University Of Miami  (UMI)
University Of Missouri-Columbia  (MIZZOU)
University Of North Carolina At Charlotte  (UNC)
University of North Texas  (UNT)
University Of Oklahoma Norman Campus  (OU)
University Of San Francisco  (USF)
University Of Southern California  (USC)
University Of Texas At Arlington  (UTA)
University Of Texas At Austin  (UT)
University Of The South  (Sewanee)
Vanderbilt University  (VU)
West Virginia University  (WVU)

Southern Methodist University uses the Texas Common Course Numbering System (TCCNS) to determine many transfer equivalencies for a variety of 2-year and 4-year schools in Texas. If a course is taken at a participating TCCNS school and is not listed within our equivalency guides, then you may look up this information on the TCCNS website (