Introduction Picture


The University includes seven schools and five other key areas that support our mission. In this section you will learn about:

  • SMU’s seven degree-granting schools
  • Other divisions and departments
Top Slice
Did You Know

Did You Know?

When SMU decided it needed a mascot as a symbol of its unified spirit, the faculty and students made nominations as to what they thought might serve the purpose adequately. On October 25, 1917, the University community voted and the winner was Miss Dorothy Amann, President Hyer's secretary. She was struck by the idea while watching the team practice from her office in Dallas Hall: "Why, out there, on the football field, it looks just like a bunch of wild Mustangs!"

Bottom Slice